Skip to content
Held in Canada

Transcription and AI scribes

Does CareWay (MEDFAR) store data in Canada?

CareWay AI scribe, standalone or inside the MYLE EMR

Yes.

For Canadian customers, CareWay (MEDFAR) stores data in Canada. It is Canadian-owned.

Tier 2: Canadian-owned, data in CanadaCanadian-owned and data stored in Canada, but the servers belong to AWS, Microsoft or Google, or the vendor does not say whose servers they are.

Checked 2026-10-14 against the vendor's own pages.

The facts, claim by claim

Where data is stored
Canada: "All data is encrypted and stored on government-compliant servers in Canada" (MEDFAR)
Where it is processed
Not stated
Support and backups
Data deleted after 48 hours in the standalone app and after 7 days in MYLE (MEDFAR)
Owner
MEDFAR Clinical Solutions (Montréal); CareWay, founded in Saguenay in 2022, joined MEDFAR in 2025 · Parent country: Canada
Servers run by
Not stated · Owner not stated
Customer-held keys
Not recorded
Certifications
TGV certification (Québec), per MEDFAR
Worth knowing
Says it complies with PIPEDA, Québec Law 25 and Law 3. On Supply Ontario's AI Scribe vendor of record list (as MEDFAR Clinical Solutions).
Caveats
Ask who runs the servers (a Canadian provider or a US cloud) and where processing happens.

What the rules say about this

  • Nova Scotia public bodies: Storage and access must both be in Canada: check support access and backups, not only storage.
  • Québec Law 25: Canada is not Québec: storage in Toronto still needs a privacy impact assessment for Québec data.
  • OCAP®: Data held by any outside vendor is not in the Nation's possession, whoever owns the vendor.

Summaries only; each rule page links the law or regulator. Not legal advice.

Canadian alternatives to CareWay (MEDFAR)

Other transcription and ai scribes listings that are Canadian-owned, not US-owned, or self-hostable.

Sources

All checked 2026-10-14. Claims about storage and ownership rest on the vendor's own pages (or its parent's); supporting links can include regulators and program lists.

Report a correction to this listing