Skip to content
Held in Canada

Transcription and AI scribes

Does Otter.ai store data in Canada?

Meeting transcription

No.

Otter.ai does not offer storage in Canada. It is owned by a US company, so the US CLOUD Act can require it to produce data it controls, wherever that data is stored.

Tier 5: Data leaves CanadaNo Canadian storage option, whoever the owner is.

Checked 2026-10-13 against the vendor's own pages.

The facts, claim by claim

Where data is stored
AWS region West, United States
Where it is processed
United States
Support and backups
Not stated on the pages read
Owner
Otter.ai, Inc. (Mountain View, CA) · Parent country: United States
Servers run by
Amazon Web Services · US company
Customer-held keys
Not recorded
Certifications
Not recorded (blank means not checked, not none)
Worth knowing
Not built for clinical use. Data stays in the US.

What the rules say about this

  • US CLOUD Act: The owner is a US company: storing data in Canada does not take it out of reach of US legal process.
  • Nova Scotia public bodies: Storage outside Canada needs the head of the public body's approval and a report.
  • Federal Protected B: Canadian facilities are the principal option departments must evaluate; this listing offers none.
  • Québec Law 25: A privacy impact assessment is required before personal information leaves Québec.
  • OCAP®: Data held by any outside vendor is not in the Nation's possession, whoever owns the vendor.

Summaries only; each rule page links the law or regulator. Not legal advice.

Canadian alternatives to Otter.ai

Other transcription and ai scribes listings that are Canadian-owned, not US-owned, or self-hostable.

Alternatives to Otter.ai
ListingTierStored in Canada?OwnerServers run by
ScribeberryTier 2: Canadian-owned, data in CanadaYesCanadianOwner not stated
Tali AITier 2: Canadian-owned, data in CanadaYesCanadianOwner not stated
HeidiTier 3: Not US-owned, data in CanadaYesAustraliaOwner not stated

Compare the alternatives to Otter.ai side by side

Sources

All checked 2026-10-13. Claims about storage and ownership rest on the vendor's own pages (or its parent's); supporting links can include regulators and program lists.

Report a correction to this listing